Skip to main content

Font Size: A+ A-

Share This Post

Festive Period Activities

Posted on: 25th November 2016 By: Stef Eastoe

The festive period is nearly upon us. If you are starting to think about how you’re going to occupy the young (and old) in the family over the holidays we have plenty of activities and events during December at Verulamium Museum.

To help you we have assembled a handy overview of all the activities we have planned, and our opening hours over the Christmas period.

Cracking Christmas Crafts Saturday 3rd December 10.30 – 12.30pm & 1.30pm – 4pm
A day of festive crafty fun for all the family, where you can create decorations and make your own personalised Christmas card.  £3.00. 

Tots Tales Wednesday 14th December 10.30am – 11.30am and 1.30pm – 2.30pm
Christmas themed story and craft activity. Suitable for children aged 2 – 4 years, accompanied by an adult. £2.00.
Spaces are limited so please book in advance either in person at Verulamium Museum or by phone 01727 751810. 

Celebrating Saturnalia Monday 19th – Friday 23rd December 2pm – 4pm
Help us to celebrate the Roman festival of Saturnaliam and decorate the museum’s Christmas tree! Suitable for 3+ year olds, accompanied by an adult. £1.50. 

12 Days of Christmas Tuesday 27th  – Friday 30th December 10am – 5pm
“On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…” Explore the museum with a very special Roman themed ‘12 days of Christmas’ trail. Free.

Christmas Opening hours.
Christmas Eve, Saturday 24 Dec: 10am - midday
Christmas Day, Sunday 25 Dec: CLOSED
Boxing Day, Monday 26 Dec: CLOSED    

New Year's Eve, Saturday 31 Dec: 10am - 3pm  
New Year's Day, Sunday 1 Jan: CLOSED    
Monday 2 Jan: 10am to 5.30pm