Skip to main content
Toggle menu Search

Museum Assistants
The Operations Team look after the day-to-day running of our sites. Tickets for events and activities can either be booked online or by telephoning the museums directly.

Kate Warren (Museums Manager)
As head of the Museums, Kate is responsible for the finances and strategic direction of the service.
E: museum@stalbans.gov.uk

Liz Gloyn (Bookings Officer)
Liz deals with all school bookings and private hires. The phones can be very busy at times and email may be a better way to get in touch.
E: museumbookings@stalbans.gov.uk
T: 01727 751 814

Catherine Newley (Audience Development Manager)
Catherine manages the Audience Development Team, including the curators, learning officers and volunteer coordinator.
E:catherine.newley@stalbans.gov.uk 

David Thorold (Curator, Pre-historic to Medieval)
Based at Verulamium Museum, David looks after collections from pre-historic times to the Medieval era. He is an archaeologist with particular expertise in coins.
E: david.thorold@stalbans.gov.uk 
T: 01727 751 824

Simon West (District Archaeologist)
Simon has worked for St Albans City and District for 20 years and has excellent knowledge of the district's archaeology. Half of his time is spent working on planning applications at the Council offices.
E: simon.west@stalbans.gov.uk 
T: 01727 819 338

Sarah Keeling (Curator, Post Medieval to Contemporary)
Sarah looks after collections from the 15th Century to the present day.
E: sarah.keeling@stalbans.gov.uk
T: 01727 751 820

Farhana Begum (Marketing Manager)
Farhana leads on promoting the museums and looking after our brand. She leads on all our online and offline comms, helping to raise our profile, gain more visitors and generate revenue.
E: museum@stalbans.gov.uk

Post currently vacant (Finds Liaison Officer)
This role records archaeological finds discovered by members of the public. This post is funded by the DCMS as part of the Portable Antiquities Scheme and is based at Verulamium but works across Hertfordshire & Bedfordshire.

Finds: someone may not always be available on site but finds can be left for future identification and recording. 
Treasure: If you have something you think is treasure - please do report this to us. Objects that count as treasure (broadly) are: Objects comprised mostly of silver or gold and more than 300 years old; 2 or more coins of silver or gold and more than 300 years old (a single coin is not treasure); 10 or more coins of bronze and more than 300 years old; more than 1 item of pre-historic metalwork from the same find spot.

Alison Foster (Conservator of Collections)
Alison's role is to manage our collections care policy and carry out preventative and remedial conservation for both the displayed and stored collections. She works with volunteers and placement participants to achieve this. 
E: alison.foster@stalbans.gov.uk
T: 01727 751 825

Eleanor Payne (Learning and Interpretation Officer)
Eleanor is responsible for the family, adult and schools learning programme and overseeing the team of part-time teachers who deliver our popular school sessions. Please visit our Learn pages for more information.
E: eleanor.payne@stalbans.gov.uk

Sally Beniston (Assistant Learning & Interpretation Officer)
Sally works with Eleanor on the schools, family and adult learning programmes. Please visit our Learn pages for more information.
E: sally.beniston@stalbans.gov.uk
T: 01727 752 274

Robert Orchard (Operations Manager)
Rob oversees the operation of the museums, including the shop and the Operations team.
E: robert.orchard@stalbans.gov.uk
T: 01727 751 822

Margreet Bockenhauer (Senior Museums Assistant)
Margreet works with Rob to manage the day-to-day running of the museums, including the shop and the Operations team.
E: margreet.bockenhauer@stalbans.gov.uk
T: 01727 751 811

Julia Good (Volunteer Coordinator)
Julia works closely with our amazing team of volunteers who get involved with a whole range of projects and activities - we couldn’t do what we do without them. If you're interested, visit the Volunteering page.
E: julia.good@stalbans.gov.uk